Mouth-Watering Appetizers

No, this blog has not shut down… nor did it turn into a foodie-blog. Just that I’m quite busy with leaving my job (my replacement is stalking me all day) and starting at a new position. Posting will be erratic for a while, I’m afraid. But I don’t stop reading… So here are a few recent books I’ve finished, awaiting a proper review:

  •  A Japanese collection of short stories by various authors, all on the subject of Youth. (Incidentally, I find it quite difficult to review a collection, especially when the stories are so different from one another)
  •  A French mystery by Fred Vargas… Yes, in 2008 I dare approach French lit! Fred Vargas is a female mystery writer whose novels have become increasingly popular in France in the recent years, but I’d never seriously tried to read any before. Her mysteries are very quirky and showcase characters who lead a very original life in Paris. It’s not supposed to be completely realistic, just to entertain and play with words.
  •  A beginning-of-20C mystery by a rival of Agatha Christie: Mary Roberts Rinehart (1876-1958). This is part of my endeavour to discover early mystery writers. It’s not a locked-room mystery, but rather a country house adventure, in a rented holiday house full of corridors, mysterious staircases and strange noises in the dead of the night.

On my nightstand these days, I have large books that I won’t finish before some time: The Plot Against America by Philip Roth and Berlin Alexanderplatz by Alfred Doeblin. These aren’t easy reads, but quite fascinating each in its own way!

One thought on “Mouth-Watering Appetizers

  1. I like your idea of discovering early mystery writers. I read Wilkie Collins for the first time last year and that was fun – spooky!

Leave a Reply

