Another Bad Case of Blogertia?

Here I am again… online after a week of delightful (if not exactly sunny) vacation in Holland. I’m just a few days away from the next step in my own private motherhood adventure: getting back to work. Yes, after everything Judith Warner said (dreamt?) about French women being privileged with long maternity leave, affordable public daycare etc. etc., I am indeed returning to work and giving Baby Smithereens to the (shared) care of a (not particularly affordable yet loving) nanny… (note: If Judith Warner can explain me where she got that affordable public daycare, I am willing to give her my phone number) And as you might guess, I lack will and concentration to post about reading and writing, which is actually what this whole blog thing is dedicated to. Sigh. Guess what? I first self-diagnosed procrastination, then end-of-vacation syndrome, then post-partum / pre-work attack of self-doubt, but it might as well be Bloglily’s Blogertia.

I am going to fight that bout of blog fatigue with Cam’s antidote and make a list of topics I’ve thought about blogging about…

  • A book review of Lisa Belkin’s Life’s Work, a collection of witty essays on work and (mother) life balance from her New York Times column
  • A book review on Vicky Iovine’s Girlfriends Guide to Surviving the First Year of Motherhood (and my doubts about offering this book to pregnant girlfriends)
  • Wondering why I am addicted to self-help books like the one listed before (good thing we got rid of TV, or else I would be glued to Dr. Phil shows…).
  • Writing about the difficulty to choose between having a library-cum-study in our apartment or a nursery… then discovering that there is no real choice and how to come to terms with that (Virginia’s Room of One’s Own?)
  • Writing about the free time to write on Saturday afternoons (courtesy of Mr. Smithereens caring for the baby) and how I find myself addicted to Starbucks (Virginia’s Common Room of One’s Own??) and still somehow feeling guilty of that time off.
  • Worry about how I can salvage my reading, writing and this very blog while being a full-time working mom. (this post will be another awful rant I guess…)
  • How I come to rethink Allison Pearson’s “I don’t know how she does it” not as a pink-covered chick lit hit but as a dark and desperate cautionary social tale a la Dickens.
  • The French “rentree litteraire” – and how stupid I find it each year that every publisher here releases all its yearly books at the same time, making it a totally indigestible heap of 600-ish books fighting for your attention in bookstores… most of them won’t have the review and exposure they deserve and will end up in pulp, a sad perspective that nearly would stop me from wishing to be published.
  • This blog’s third anniversary… (any idea how to celebrate properly?? ). I recently heard about a French author, Frederic Beigbeder, who wrote a book titled “L’amour dure 3 ans” (Love lasts for 3 years)… In my case I know this is false, and I hope he won’t say the same about this blog’s life.

Wow, you see, I’m not short of topics at all, just of time and energy to sit down at the computer… except when, like right now, Baby Smithereens is nicely asleep in his crib next to me.

4 thoughts on “Another Bad Case of Blogertia?

  1. I’ve no children but two of my co-workers recently came back from maternity leave and it was hard for them to leave their babies in daycare even though for one of them daycare is various family members. So be good to yourself. Don’t worry about the blog (though please keep blogging when you can!), adjusting to a new schedule with baby and work will take some time and that is ok.

  2. I hope the transition to work goes okay — it does sound challenging, but with a good nanny and a good husband you’ve got a good start! We’ll be here to read whenever you have the chance to blog.

  3. Daycare is difficult and I always felt that I had to be vigilant about the places I chose to care for my son. Oddly, I think I felt more at a loss when he started school because I had far less day-to-day contact with the teachers than with the daycare workers. The only advice I can give (which may not be worth much) is to compartmentalize your worklife so that you focus on work while at work and baby when at home. I worked with someone a few years ago who could watch her child’s daycare on a webcam. I thought she was torturing herself by doing so.

  4. I can only imagine how difficult this first transition must be. A friend of mine in the States recently wrote how she successfully handed off her new baby a few weeks ago for the first day of his two-day-a-week daycare, only to sob her way home and then convince herself that she’d gotten over that first hurdle, and wasn’t she proud and shouldn’t she feel better, but this just reminded her that for the rest of her life there would always be another “first” – and she said she started crying all over again. She has a wonderful flair for dramatic storytelling and I laughed as she meant I would laugh, but I know that she was also very serious. It must be one of the hardest things a mother can do.

    I read the Beigbeder book and am sorry I cannot recommend it 🙂 Happy Blogiversary!

Leave a Reply

