Quick Note of Reassurance

No, I haven’t given up on this blog, nor have I given up on reading and writing. And (although I doubt it’s really wise) I haven’t given up on buying books either!

It’s just that I’m awfully tied up with work (budgetary season once again) and our new family schedule. I started several post drafts but didn’t finish them. I sort of write stories but longhand during my commute, so nothing gets into my computer for the moment being. Rest assured, whenever I’m eventually online, I’m very happy to check on all the great people listed on my blogroll. So, while I’m not really active, I’m still here.

Two days ago we received a package from A… (the big bad corporate online bookshop everybody knows) with a lot of relief supplies: light yet cultural entertainment, just to prove ourselves that although we forsake theater, movies etc. for the time being, we can still enjoy ourselves. I’m quite excited about the movie adaptation of Jane Austen’s Persuasion (we chose the ITV one over the BBC, such a difficult decision 😉 ), and even more about Cranford (inspired by Elizabeth Gaskell’s Victorian novels) which I heard a lot of praise from Danielle (among others).

I also bought 2 books warmly recommended by blog-friends: Amanda Vickery’s “Gentleman Daughter, on Women’s life in Georgian England” and “Good Evening Mrs. Craven” by Mollie Panter-Downes. I’m not sure when I’ll be able to read them but I’m still quite hopeful. This is actually the first Persephone book I buy and I’m starting to understand why book lovers are so effusive about these beautifully-crafted objects! I probably shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but it is gorgeous indeed!

Just to let you know, I finished Ethan Canin’s collection “The Palace Thief”, and I’m close to the end of Ruth Rendell’s mystery “The Veiled One”. Both are very good and I’m quite enthusiastic about Canin’s short stories, but you’ll have to wait until I have a little more time to get a proper review about them.

4 thoughts on “Quick Note of Reassurance

  1. we will all be here as you adjust to life back at work and with your little one. I don’t think many of us “go” anywhere for very long at all! I hope you get the chance for a bit of reading this weekend!

  2. Courtney, thanks for your encouragement! I certainly get the chance to catch up on blogs this week-end!

    Verbivore, I have The emperor of the air lined up and Blue river is being sent to me from Bookmooch… Obviously I love his writing too.

  3. I want to read the Vickery book, too. I had it sitting on my desk at work for a long time and then decided I wouldn’t get it read right now (as I try and catch up on everything else) so I sent it back to the shelves. Aren’t those Persephones lovely? They are very addicting. I love it when a publisher takes as much time to make the outside of a book just as nice as the inside hopefully will be. I want to read that collection, too. And I’ve not read that Rendell–is it a Wexford mystery? I’ve been on a bit of a binge of her work lately. Hope you get caught up on things–I always feel behind and I don’t have a newborn baby to give as an excuse! 🙂

Leave a Reply

