Blogiversary!

Tomorrow, this blog will be 2 years old! It’s a nice, curious, healthy toddler, not very prone to tantrums.

I can’t begin to tell you how much my life changed within these 2 years, especially in the last few months (Baby Smithereens is already 3 months old, can you believe it??), but the most important is: I kept reading and writing and blogging about it all. It feels hectic some days, but I’m so much happier writing on this blog and interacting with other bloggers, I mean YOU, readers, that it’s really worth it.

During Year 2, I discovered great authors, the most recent one that springs to mind is Ethan Canin. Another great short story writer I was encouraged to take on was James Salter, after enthusiastic reviews from friendly book-bloggers. Leafing through the archives, I just realize that I read my first Philip Roth’s novel in October last year! I had in September 2007 the ambitious plan to read Dante’s Divine Comedy, but I had to rein in my ambitions and be more realistic. I still hope to tackle it one day, but probably later, with a good history book on the side to understand the context and references. I don’t think I’ll set myself such a high target this time around. But the good news is, now that I’ve gone back to work and that the baby has apparently settled in a routine with the nanny, I can save some time every day during my commute to read and write, and I have arranged some writing time alone on weekends with Mr. Smithereens’ help.

I wish I could invite all the cool people in my blogroll to meet in person in a great blogiversary party, but since we have to make it virtual, just uncork the virtual bubbly, take your favorite book or just the one currently on your nightstand, put your favorite music on and have a nice time reading and enjoying blogs!

6 thoughts on “Blogiversary!

  1. Happy blog-birthday to you, dear Smithereens! I quite frequently imagine giving up blogging, but then I think what about the people? I would miss them all far too much.

    In honour of you, I am going to get off the computer and flick open Kitchen Confidential for a lovely hour of reading …

  2. Happy Blogiversary! I love all the bookish interaction as well. I’m glad you have a routine going that allows some good reading and writing time as well! I’ll try and get in some extra reading in honor of your virtual celebration! 🙂

  3. A belated happy blogiversary to you! It would be wonderful to be able to meet one’s blog friends and acquantances in person en masse for a grand celebration. What a glorious thing that technology allows us all to meet even virtually though!

Leave a Reply

