Giving Thanks Nonetheless

I’m terribly late at writing about books I’ve finished ages ago and, as you see, not terribly present on this blog, due to lots of work and stressful family events. I’m a bit under the weather, to say the least. But I’ve always loved Thanksgiving, even though I’m no American and very very far away from any turkey, stuffing, cranberries, pumpkin pies (I still have mashed potatoes though… and starch is comfort food by excellence, I should probably try it!)

On the writing side, I’ve started a Thankfulness diary, to force me to see things on the bright side and record those tiny events that make up a life but never go recorded anywhere (an idea instilled by Bloglily ages ago). But it’s very personal and I don’t think I can share anything here. It feels nice to have a notebook in my purse and to scribble stuff during my commute.

On the reading side, I’ve finished Eat Pray Love and half-wrote a half-enthusiastic review about it. But I’m truly grateful for Fred Vargas novels, that are zany, suspenseful and funny enough to give me some breathing space. I’m in no mood for complicated books right now.

So I wish you all a very peaceful and joyful Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Giving Thanks Nonetheless

  1. I like the idea of a gratitude journal. I decided yesterday that I’m going to try to find — and celebrate even if just in a very personal way — something to be grateful for every day through the end of the holiday season. I think it will help with the inevitable stress of the holidays. Yesterday I was dreading the start of the Christmas season because of gloomy economic reports that are constant on television & radio, and, more directly impacting me on a daily basis, the holiday mall traffic that I need to deal with to get to work. I realized that if I focus on these, it will only serve to make me grumpy and complaining, so I’m going to intentionally look for something to be joyous about. Yes, I know that I should do this everyday, but for now, I’m going to see if I can sustain if for the next 5 weeks. I’m intending to post about this today, but don’t know if I’ll get a chance to before I have to leave for my family Thanksgiving dinner.

  2. Happy thanksgiving, Ms Smithereens! I remember the early years with a baby as frantic times when every emotion is heightened. Hang on in there – it all calms down and serenity returns. A gratitude journal is a lovely idea; I often think of doing something like that myself, but I’m really bad at being grateful. Isn’t that awful? I mean, of course I’m grateful but when I try to write it down it always slips into some other emotion. Ah well!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving! I’m so glad to hear you praise Fred Vargas novels. Someone in my French book group has suggested them and I was a little wary at first (I’m just not sure a roman policier is good food for discussion in a group…) but now I will happily sample my first one in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

