My Wishlist to Santa Claus…

Oops, just forgot that I am a grown-up now… But if I can’t write a letter to Santa Claus anymore, I can create a wishlist on Bookmooch or Amazon. Of the two options, I prefer the Bookmooch one, even if (and because) it depends on luck and on people’s generosity. It may take years but magically, from time to time, one of those titles materialize on my doorstep, courtesy of a stranger. Isn’t that the spirit of Christmas?

I also have been sending out mooched books at a greater pace these days… and because it’s Christmas, I decided to forgo the cheaper, but slower Economy rate and make my Mooches a Priority mail, so that people will have a chance to get their book during the holiday season.

  • Tom Bissell, God Lives in St. Petersburg: Short Stories (I remember some big newspaper declared him a must-read for travel writing, and the Hobgoblin likes him- don’t go look for it, it was in a now-extinct post on Vietnam Vets)
  • Andrea J. Buchanan, It’s a Boy: Women Writers on Raising Sons (because Baby Smithereens happens to be a boy… and I, a writer?)
  • Truman Capote, In Cold Blood: A True Account of a Multiple Murder and Its Consequences (a classics, never read it at length)
  • Patrick Gale, Notes from an Exhibition (because it looked quite nice on the WH Smith shelves, but I had spent all my money on other books that day)
  • Elizabeth George, Careless in Red (because I can’t get enough of Inspector Lynley and Barbara Havers’ adventures)
  • Jo Gill, The Cambridge Companion to Sylvia Plath (Cambridge Companions to Literature) (because I don’t feel I can fend for myself with The Great Sylvia)
  • Xiaolu Guo, 20 Fragments of a Ravenous Youth (because I miss Beijing, and for no other reason, because I’m not sure I would be interested to read her other novel: A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers)
  • Kathryn Miller Haines, The War Against Miss Winter (I can’t remember where I read a very positive review of this one…)
  • Siri Hustvedt, Mysteries of the Rectangle: Essays on Painting (I love Siri Hustvedt’s novels and I offered this book in French edition instead of keeping it to myself…)
  • Hermione Lee, Virginia Woolf (it’s the kind of massive book you just can’t borrow for a 3 weeks’ stint at the library)
  • Alison Light, Mrs Woolf and the Servants (this list does have a fascination for Virginia, doesn’t it? This one was suggested by Danielle, but I can’t point her post about it)
  • Li Yiyun, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers: Stories (one good review from Eve’s Alexandria achieved to convince me, and a short story of Li Yiyun appeared in Zoetrope’s Fall issue)
  • Janet Malcolm, The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes (warmly recommended by Litlove and Dorothy)
  • Daniel Pool, What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew: From Fox Hunting to Whist-The Facts of Daily Life in Nineteenth-Century England (I’ve been lusting for this one ever since I researched for my 2005 Nanowrimo!)
  • Virginia Woolf, Moments of Being: Autobiographical Writings (I’d love to get my own copy in English, to be able to re-read with the original voice as often as I wish)

Hey, it’s only 15 books! Quite reasonable, after all…

2 thoughts on “My Wishlist to Santa Claus…

Leave a Reply

