Bloggy Guilt

There is definitely something addictive in blogs (who can contest it?, but also something guilt-inducing when you’re falling behind on posts (not you, me alright). It’s never a bore to write book reviews in this blog. It once was when it was for school (I got bad grades and never understood what was really expected of me), but not here.

But the perspective to have to catch up on (let me count… omg it’s even worse than what I thought) 5 book reviews is daunting. Well, it’s not that I have to really, but I want to. That would be a shame really to not say anything of these books, right? Like they would be condemned to oblivion, whereas writing about them will make them live longer in my memory, and perhaps inspire others to read them…

I don’t know how other people deal with this uncomfortable feeling, but I suspect this is one of the reasons why there are so many abandoned blogs. What would you suggest? Write 5 sentences about each of them? Pick the one I loved best and say nothing of the rest (mmh… not right, I have something to say about them all!)? Link to other people’s reviews?

Fist of all, let me list them here, so they won’t go totally forgotten (in order of completion):

  • Molly Panter-Downes, Good Evening Mrs. Craven
  • Sarah Stewart Taylor, Mansions of the Dead
  • Christophe Lecoules, Une nuit de Carnaval
  • Kathleen Tessaro, Elegance
  • Siri Hustvedt, A Plea for Eros

Which one are you most curious about?

5 thoughts on “Bloggy Guilt

  1. I know what you mean about blog guilt! There are so many books that I’ve read in recent months, really good ones that I would have liked to share with blogging pals, that have gone unmentioned. But once I’ve let too much time pass, I begin to feel that I would have to reread the books to do them justice, and then it’s too late. I think giving each book a few lines while it’s still relatively fresh in your mind rather than holding off for full-length reviews might be the answer. Of your list of recent reads, I’m most curious about the Siri Hustvedt as well.

  2. The Siri Hustvedt. I know all about that guilt. Sometimes to catch up I’ll do lots of brief reviews in one post. And sometimes, it’s good just to let go and not write about them at all. Who knows, maybe a book in the future will bring an unsung one to mind and provide the perfect opportunity to speak about it then.

  3. I see you’ve got a review of the Panter-Downs book, which is what I was going to ask about — thank you! I like Litlove’s idea of doing brief reviews of multiple books at once, or perhaps focusing on one or two of the books and being brief about the others. I end up writing on just about everything I read, but that’s just me — other people write about only some of what they read, and that’s fine too.

  4. I could say don’t feel guilty but then I’d be a hypocrite. A few lines about each as the others suggest would be perfectly fine, but if you want to do more than a few lines about the Siri Hustvedt, feel free 🙂

Leave a Reply

