New (Free !) Acquisitions

I recently received all those cool Bookmooch books and I can’t wait to have a pick on them. Just let me gloat for a minute. Thanks Bookmooch for allowing me to trade disappointing books for fascinating ones!

Alison Light, Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: I thought I knew a lot about Woolf’s private life through her diary, but the upstairs / downstairs view on Woolf’s everyday life attracts me. This one was a “hot mooch”, as it stands on many people’s wish list.

Elizabeth George, Careless in Red: I confess: I’m a fan of Inspector Lynley. I read With No One as Witness, which ends on the most breathtaking cliff-hanger when his wife gets murdered. I was so shocked that I do not remember much else in this book. I didn’t have the heart to read the next thriller, What Came Before He Shot Her. I guess I still held a grudge against George for killing one of my favourite characters (here’s a link to an essay where she explains her decision). So it’s been quite a while (perhaps the time to grieve too!), and I now miss Havers / Lynley conversations!

Kathryn Miller Haines, The War against Miss Winter: this book seems all over the blogs I read, but as I try to remember whose in particular and where the buzz was coming from, I only found Kate’s reference. Anyway, I like the home front theme (see for example contemporary short stories by Molly Panter-Downes), and this one looks like a nice, summer read.

Salley Vickers, Miss Garnet’s Angel: I admit that the name of Vickers isn’t familiar to me at all, but it kept appearing in blogs I love, and when Litlove said that the event she most wanted to attend at a recent literary festival featured this author, I knew I missed something. So here’s my first attempt.

M.C. Beaton, Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet: to prolong my Cotswolds holidays and meet this funny character again after the first episode: The Quiche of Death

In addition, I received a great book by Oneworld Classics, Tolstoy’s Sakhalin Island. It’s an independent British publisher with a great selection of European classics. In most cases, these books are quite hard to find in print and their design is quite nice! I was not really tempted by the French collection (although I can see that they are really serious, ranging from Zola to Robbe-Grillet) but by the Russian one. I knew about Tolstoy’s trip to Sakhalin goals because I heard about it on the French cultural radio, but I didn’t get the details. Excerpt from the back cover: “In 1890, the thirty-year-old Chekhov, already knowing that he was ill with tuberculosis, undertook an arduous eleven-week journey from Moscow across Siberia to the penal colony on the island of Sakhalin.” It doesn’t seem to be a light read, but I really want to get to the bottom of this. Doesn’t it sound intriguing?

3 thoughts on “New (Free !) Acquisitions

  1. Perhaps I should give Elizabeth George another try — I wasn’t in love with the first book in the series, but I’ve heard such good things about her, if I keep going, I may get into them more.

  2. Lucky you to have gotten Mrs. Woolf and the Servants! I didn’t even put it on my Bookmooch wishlist because I figured there was no way I’d ever beat everybody to it. Enjoy all your new books!

  3. Dorothy – I couldn’t wait and directly dived into George’s new mystery… but I know some people have been annoyed by her pseudo-British setting and characters. I’m just addicted.

    Stefanie – I recently had a string of luck with Bookmooch, just because I’m online at non-US times! I’ll let you know if I want to part with Light’s book after reading it.

Leave a Reply

