Reading Notes (and Suitcase Packing)

Just the time for a bullet post today, because I realize I’ve started so many books in parallel:

– Elizabeth George’s Careless in Red is still on my night stand. It’s quite hefty, it will probably come with me in holidays.

– Batya Gur, The Saturday Morning Murder: A Psychoanalytic Case (1992). Last year I’d discovered this Israeli mystery series featuring detective Michael Ohayon. The title I’d read was Murder in the Kibbutz, and it was interesting to learn so much about Israeli daily life. This one is rather slow, but equally exotic. I’m trying very hard to finish this one before leaving.

– Francisco Coloane, Cape Horn (1941). This is a collection of short stories by a Chilean writer I’d discovered about 10 years ago. As you can imagine stories set in such a desolate, harsh, windswept lands with desolate and harsh people are something of a cultural shock. Especially when I’ll be vacationing in sunny, tidy, flowery Tyrol. Sometimes it reminds me a little of Annie Proulx’ prairie, but not with the same sensibility. Mmh, let me think a little more about this comparison and get back to you at the end of the month.

– Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami: another collection, but can anything be further apart from Cape Horn than quirky Japan? I’ve started a few stories, the mood is about as strange as expected. I’m not so sure I’ll take it with me in holidays.

I’m sure I’ll still pack another few to go with these, but I can’t guess how much reading I’ll have time for this year. We’ll see!

One thought on “Reading Notes (and Suitcase Packing)

  1. Have a great vacation!! I’ll be curious to hear what you think of the George. It’s the only Havers/Lynley book I’ve not read of hers. I bought it when it first came out in cloth, but it is so chunky I think that’s what’s put me off reading it–having to heft it around. I’ve contemplated buying it in paper, but I hate the idea of putting out the money yet again, so cloth it will be when I get to it.

Leave a Reply

