2009 Favorites

Coming up with a definite number of books (say, 10) to sum up the past year is a difficult exercise. Past the very obvious choices that I could name without looking at my list – I’d fallen for them soon after the first pages and I’d enjoyed every sentence without reservation – the remaining titles to reach the quota is always the result of compromises and hesitations.

Should I go toward the challenging books, that I won’t forget anytime soon because they made me “think harder”, or challenged my comfy assumptions, even though I had my reservations about them? Should I prefer the most entertaining (but rather mainstream and well-known) books, because I know that I will buy the next installment, a sure sign that they were good? Should I instead highlight the little-known, the ones who had opened to me doors to new worlds? My second group tries to do it all.

This is the first group, in no particular order:

The runners-up:

As you may notice, I haven’t “properly” reviewed this last title, but I have a more ambitious project for 2010: to read side by side Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy, which inspired Simmonds, and her graphic novel, a perfect candidate for a second reading.

6 thoughts on “2009 Favorites

  1. Great lists! The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie is fantastic. I really loved Proulx’s Shipping News when I read it years ago but have never read anything else by her. I will have to put Postcards on the list. Happy New Year!

    • I don’t know on what blog I first heard about The Prime of Miss Brodie but that’s indeed a book I would never have discovered but for lit-bloggers and their warm recommendations! happy New year to you too!

  2. Interesting list here! I agree with Stefanie about the Brodie book — very good. I agree that it’s hard to come up with a best-of list because “best” can mean so many things.

    • Yes, I agree that “best” is too vague to be satisfying, I’ll extend it into better defined categories for next yea… I have now a whole year to think about them! 😉

  3. Love this list, and your creative categories! You have inspired me to make a list of Books That Made Me Cry and Books That Made Me Sigh. And now I’m going to go explore some of the titles on your list. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

