New on the Shelves !

I’m usually rather successful at resisting book binges, but sometimes, well, the slope is slippery and my resolve to attack the TBR pile first dissolves into just adding a few titles to the said TBR pile.

Eh, eh, did I fool anyone? It’s no use to try a sorry tone, I’m just so happy about my new books that I’m gonna boast about them worldwide.

A few days ago, I received a long-awaited book that Dorothy had pointed out literally years ago (in 2008): The Silent Woman by Janet Malcolm. I had it ever since on my Bookmooch wishlist, but it doesn’t seem to be the kind of books that Bookmooch members like to give away.

It’s a biography of Sylvia Plath, but it has a wider approach. It’s a biography of biographers of Sylvia Plath. Malcolm has a fascinating reflection on biographers and their subject, how biographers inevitably get emotionally involved and take side, especially in this perilous case where a nasty divorce, a complicated identity and a suicide left things unclear forever. The fact that Plath literary legacy (and estate) has been left to manage to Ted Hughes (and his sister), both in its financial implications and in its hope to “mould” her image for posterity, further complicates the matter. Their attempt to control, influence or thwart the various biographers’ versions have resulted in making them the “bad guys” and Sylvia the “nice one”. But of course the reality was necessarily more complex.

I haven’t resisted to Malcolm’s easy language and am already right in the middle. Before I finish it and review it properly, please go and read Dorothy’s post. You’ll probably end up adding this one to your wishlist too!

Yesterday, in addition, I received a very nice hardback (G knows how few hardbacks I own): Dani Noir by Nova, from Distraction 99. I followed the ups and downs of her budding (now confirmed) literary career for some years now, and it’s like I owe her to buy her book, because I felt so happy for her when it was published. Mmh, it’s one of those improbable things the blog world makes you do in real life. I’d never imagined. I don’t read YA books in general, so it’s my first time (I mean, ever since I wasn’t right in the targeted audience itself). The first chapter is about Rita Hayworth and a young girl in a small town. Improbable match, isn’t it?

Oh, oh, perhaps I might rent a noir movie with Rita Hayworth for the weekend, what do you think?

4 thoughts on “New on the Shelves !

  1. Nice score on BookMooch! I remember Dorothy writing about that book because I put it on my TBR list. You patiently waited a long time and were justly rewarded 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you got a copy of the book and are enjoying it! I’m looking forward to your review. I’m also looking forward to reading Malcolm’s other books — I’ve got the one on Gertrude Stein and the one on Chekhov waiting for me.

  3. I’m so flattered that you bought my first book! I can’t believe you did that, it’s very kind. Thank you! Yes, the book is for young adults (tweens, actually), but I do hope you enjoy it, or find a tween who does. I’m just really flattered that you went out and got it. Thank you so much for being so supportive 🙂

Leave a Reply

