Coming Up…

I’ve let work take a lot more time than it deserves, and I hate what it does to me: hectic days, neglected chores, stressed-out tunnels from Mondays to Fridays with no kind of (mental) break, not enough time for “real stuff”. I need to slow down and be more present to my own life (as in: breathing and feeling and not just earning money, answering urgent e-mails and crossing stuff from my endless to-do list), regardless of what is expected from me, especially by those at work who don’t know or care about me. Ahem… excuse this bit of a rant.

The (only) good side of these few last weeks is that I still read quite a lot. I needed it. And now I have a growing to-be-reviewed pile next to my gigantic to-be-read pile. It’s not really blog-guilt, but I hate it when I miss the opportunity to express my enthusiasm about a just-finished book. After a few weeks, feelings get more tepid and the sparkle is gone, while the book itself is not to blame!

Just to let you know, these are books I still intend to review, however briefly, because they made my days lighter and probably  saner in the last few weeks:

  • Saveurs sacrées, a religion cum food book by Stéphanie Schwartzbrod
  • The Denazification of Germany, a collection of historical articles edited by Marie-Bénédicte Vincent
  • Fortune’s Rocks by Anita Shreve
  • The Pura Principle, a NewYorker short story by Junot Diaz
  • A collection of English short stories by various authors (this is very vague, but it was a language book for students in English to start with)
  • Two novellas under the same cover: Hardboiled, Hard Luck, by Banana Yoshimoto
  • Lolly Willowes, by Sylvia Townsend Warner
  • My Chinese Wedding: letters from China by a French woman married before WWI to a Chinese, written to her family between 1922 and 1924 and collected by Danielle Dufay
  • A lone short story: “How to eat fruit” by Anne Brooke, that I downloaded on a e-book website following her recommendation (and the free trial offer!)

Have a nice weekend everyone and enjoy spring!

Leave a Reply

