A Fall Shopping Basket

Is it a natural instinct that make us hoard for books at fall ? I like the idea that we book-lovers are like squirrels who stockpile nuts before winter. Although to be completely honest, I suspect it’s not related to the season at all.

Anyway, Litlove has shown us amazing piles of books, and I feel less guilty about the piles in my own home. After forgoing a trip to the seaside, we were in a mood to splurge, so that everyone of us got a few things from their wishlist. Egoistically I’m not going to comment on Mr.’s or Baby Smithereens’ choices (being mostly DVDs).

For a month or so I’m in the mood for “feel-good” self-help books:

  • I started with Katrina Kenison’s Mitten Strings for God, with mixed results (a review due very soon!)
  • I continued with a lot more success with Hand Wash Cold by Karen Maezen Miller.
  • And this weekend, I couldn’t resist to The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. The subtitle is: Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun.

Isn’t that a great program? Can you recommend any feel-good book that you loved?

In addition, I chose a Chinese book: a short story collection by Li Yiyun, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers. It’s been much too long since I’ve read a Chinese contemporary book.

Happy stock-piling everyone!

3 thoughts on “A Fall Shopping Basket

  1. Yay! More stockpiling! I can recommend The Compassionate Mind by Paul Gilbert. It’s very good in that ‘this is obvious so why do I never do it?’ kind of way. Interested to know what you make of The Happiness Project – I’ve heard a lot about that.

  2. I read 1 chapter of the happiness project a few months ago. Not sure where in my house the book is. Would be interested to hear your thoughts on it. I intend to finish reading it, but not straight through, and not immediately.

Leave a Reply

