Chilly Mornings, Chilling Stories…

I’ve just started the collection by Daphne du Maurier, Don’t Look Now, after reading Danielle‘s warm recommendation. And it’s quite good!

Actually, it may be a little too effective!

I’ve already sworn off spooky stories at bedtime, so I’m reading it on my morning commute.

But now days are short and the trains are eerily silent. I hold on to the book and look left and right to see if something uncanny shows up.

And when I walk the 10 minutes to my office building through the completely empty business district (I arrive earlier than most Parisians, so that I may leave earlier), I don’t feel that confident.

Yep, Daphne du Maurier is really talented!

But I might just wait until next spring to finish the collection under better conditions! (just kidding, it’s gripping and I want to know the end!)

One thought on “Chilly Mornings, Chilling Stories…

Leave a Reply

