Where the blogging break ends

I took an unvoluntary long blog break, first completely planned since we took a week’s holidays far from computers, then when I returned all my free time devoted to blogging disappeared behind deadlines and problems at work. Then, for a week, the disastrous events we’re all witnessing right me left stunned and at a loss for words.

I hope to put my stress and worries behind me and reconnect with the blog world, because I haven’t stopped reading in the meantime, and finished books have been stacked up high! Here is the list of coming posts in the near future:

  •  JK Rowlings, Harry Potter and  the Philosopher’s Stone (1997)
  • Michel Pinçon Monique Pinçon Charlot, Paris 15 Promenages sociologiques (2009)
  • Nicolas Bouvier, Le Vide et le plein, carnets du Japon (2004)
  • Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (2008)
  • Helen McInnes, Above Suspicion (1941)
  • Richard Russo, That Old Cape Magic (2009)
  • Ingmar Bergman, Fanny and Alexander (1983)
  • Thornton Wilder, Our town (1938)
  • Harry Mulisch, The Assault (1982)

In those stressful and uncertain times, I also find great comfort in poetry, and I have dipped into collections by Mary Oliver, by Walt Whitman, Adrienne Rich, and a witty collection by Virginia Graham, Consider the years, that were written during WW2. Those funny lines show a great courage to be light and cheerful under hard circumstances.

8 thoughts on “Where the blogging break ends

  1. Glad you have returned and I hope you had a nice holiday in spite of all the stress that awaited you when you came back. Looking forward to hearing about all your reading. Will you be writing about the poetry too? Please do! You know I love poetry 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to see your comments on Fanny and Alexander, Our Town, and That Old Cape Magic. Regarding Fanny and Alexander, is there a text version? I am only familiar with the movie. Regarding Our Town, it may help give some small perspective to the feelings we all have had this past week and we watched the disasters of others, unable to help.

  3. Glad to see you reading so much. I’d be interested to hear more about the poets. And glad to see you mixing light reading with what looks (to me at any rate) more serious reading. I enjoyed The Guernsey book but also wondered if it wasn’t a little too light. Anyway, it was very well done. And I’m sure Harry Potter was a good comfort read too.

    • Yes, I found myself in the mood for some light reading. After the blogging break I just learnt about the good news for you and your family. Congratulations! You must be quite tired + busy, thanks for stopping by!

  4. I hope your break was at least nice, but you’re right the last week has been awful otherwise. Books do make wonderful escapes. I only wish I were more of a poetry reader. I still plan on reading Helen McInnes–I’m just not making any progress whatsoever on my own books lately. And I tried Thornton Wilder last year but set him aside–will try later. I’m really curious what you thought of him!

Leave a Reply

