A Christmas Shower

My day job makes it difficult for me to really take a break during the holidays, and it makes the first days of the year so busy that I already feel like Christmas happened… what… 2 months ago ? But the good news is, the presents are there, all still fresh and crisp books waiting to be read!

My dear husband has obviously read this blog to get some ideas and he decided that I needed a great number of books for the season. Of course I won’t contradict him 😉 …

Obviously he seemed to consider that I should have more of what I enjoy: mysteries!

  • Liza Cody, Gimme more
  • Amanda Cross, The James Joyce murder
  • Sarah Caudwell, Thus was Adonis murdered

Then he apparently realized that I’d gotten into a “Prairie phase” and he indulged me:

  • A biography of Laura Ingalls Wilder by William Anderson
  • A star memoir by “Nellie Oleson”: Confessions of a Prairie Bitch, by Alison Arngrim

I burst out laughing when I discover that last title, because I never thought I’d ever read the memoir of a TV star, and even less of Nellie Oleson’s actress!

And then he added a bit of “this and that”, from my various areas of interest:

  • Désirs de France: an essay where 15 foreign correspondents based in France analyze our country
  • A cookbook of Japanese everyday cuisine (no, not only sushi!)

And then my friends and extended family seemed to think I needed some more!

  • Feng Hua, Seul demeure son parfum: a Chinese mystery (or thriller, I must check)
  • Jamie Oliver: Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals
  • William Faulkner, Sanctuary

What a glorious mix, especially when I can jump from Faulkner to Jamie Oliver! If I ever get to read them all, what a year 2012 will be!

Leave a Reply

