Euripides, The Trojan Women: A Joint Reading

When did this project started really? Three months ago? Six? One year?? OMG, more than a year ago?

Back in September 2011 (no, not last year, the year before… yes, I know. I’m appalled too), Nancy from Silver Season and I exchanged comments and e-mails about reading some Greek classics together. I had imagined a joint reading of the Illiad but she’d already read it so she passed this one and proposed to read some tragedy by Euripides instead.

It sounded like a great idea… except I’m so busy bad at keeping schedules and reading plans that there always was another more recent book to read first. It took us quite a while to get back to the original plan, select The Trojan Women, get our books ready.

Nancy finished first and posted on Helena last week. Then I gave her some feedback on this character and she answered back. If you want to read this discussion, visit her post here! I think I’ll react to her post about Cassandra later on, as I’ve just ordered the German novel Kassandra by Christa Wolf, which is a modern and feminist reinterpretation of the classic character.

I love joint reading projects, it’s so much fun. Don’t hesitate to drop me a line if you have such a project this year!

2 thoughts on “Euripides, The Trojan Women: A Joint Reading

Leave a Reply

