Michael Connelly, The Brass Verdict (2008)

Excuse me while I’m in a post-Connelly withdrawal phase. I’ve been hooked to his Mickey Haller thriller so bad in the last few days that I could hardly wait for my daily commute.

And if you’ve read this blog a few months ago, I had read my first Haller mystery not so long ago! Things are obviously going out of hand.

Yes, it was that bad, that the commuting hour (twice 40 minutes daily) was probably the most thrilling part of my workday (I do hope my colleagues or boss don’t read this blog), and that I actually smiled to the fellow commuters seating next to me (a serious breach of Parisian commuting etiquette, only out-of-towners and tourists do make eye contact).

I think that audiobook made it worse because I could not slow down, I had to follow the breathtaking pace of action.

My symptoms are: obsession with Harry Bosch and Michael Haller, checking Amazon several times to know what’s the next title, considering re-reading it, lack of interest for other books. It’s tough going cold-turkey after the last page!

The funny thing is that I can’t remember when I first read Connelly (probably as a student), but I do remember that I was just as hooked at the time. Same as with Ellroy. What do they put into their plots? It’s virtually unputdownable.

Bosch is a tough guy, but the mix of cynicism, realism, guilt, and hope and idealism despite the odds in the defense attorney Haller makes him such a great character that I could follow him for months on end. But… I should not. Repeat, I should not.

Add  to this lots of twists and hidden secrets, and this cocktail is deadly. Consider yourself warned.

5 thoughts on “Michael Connelly, The Brass Verdict (2008)

  1. Dare I admit that I’ve never read Connelly? But, I do know that feeling of going cold turkey after a long spell of reading crime fiction. I know I shouldn’t let myself get drawn in but time after time it happens again. There should be an equivalent of Alcholics Anonymous for the likes of you and me. So, I shouldn’t ask you this, but I’m going to anyway. Where do I start with Connelly?

    • If you want to embrace the defense side, then The Lincoln Lawyer is the good place. If you feel like prosecuting, then Black Echo is the way to start, with strong references to Vietnam war. Enjoy! (and don’t forget to breathe)

    • Oh yes, you’re partly to blame 😉 about my latest Connelly addiction, because your post reminded me of this writer I’d long set aside! But now I do remember why I’d put it aside!

  2. Pingback: Michael Connelly, The Fifth Witness (2011) | Smithereens

Leave a Reply

