A Potter Pause

I certainly didn’t mean to take a blog holidays (or hiatus, as it seems to be called).

But life did interfere with my nice reading, writing and blogging plans in a major way, and I just couldn’t find the time or energy to come here. When life gets complicated, I noticed that my reading tends to get easier (to compensate, perhaps?). So I found my way into the Harry Potter series, and devoured the books 3 and 4. I’m in the middle of number 5 right now and I enjoy it so much!

I don’t find the need to say anything more about the Potter series, because it seems that billions of words have already been poured on this topic. Let’s just say I started reading it (number 3, that is) like an adult who takes an interest in young adult lit, with some distance, and then when events turned darker and deeper (end of 3 and number 4), I just remembered being a teenager myself and reading books like Lord of the Ring with complete passion.

The only drawback is that I’m reading it in French because I borrow the books from the youth library which doesn’t have any foreign languages. And I’ll probably never come round to the English names for all the creatures, tricks and places that J.K. Rowling created. I probably miss out on something, I know. I can remember that Snape is Rogue in French and that Hogwarts is Poudlard, but then all the small stuff, candies and monsters, I have no idea what their original names are.

In the meantime, I have a tower of books awaiting some kind of posts over here. I’ll get round to writing them, never fear, but just give me a little more time with the Muggles, butterbeer and broomsticks.

 

2 thoughts on “A Potter Pause

  1. What fun! I started off reading the first book when the third book was about to published just to see what all the fuss was about. I got sucked right in and when books four and on came out I had them the day they were published and would spend all day and all night reading. That was fun.

Leave a Reply

