Kindle Shelves

With my writing reduced to feeding timetables for the baby and random jottings in my diary, and my reading very herratic (from 3am to 3.15am?), I doubt 2014 will be a great year for finishing lots of new books. Instead, I’m re-reading and I’m still getting used to my new Kindle, which gives me access to a great number of free classics. I have always complained that I read far too few classics, right? So, this is apparently the time to correct that.

I first downloaded these titles:

  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell (apparently I’ve tried to read it 10 years ago but it failed to make an impression on me. Now here’s the second chance)
  • Sheridan Le Fanu, Uncle Silas (because his gothic Carmilla was very good in my memory)
  • The return of Sherlock Holmes by Conan Doyle (it’s actually a re-read from my teens and the only way I figured to make myself wait for the next Benedict Cumberbatch’s episode)

Then I got a little bit more adventurous and remembered that Freud was now in the public domain. But not so much his translations! (and don’t ask me to read Freud in his original German). So I bagged those available in English: Totem and Taboo (I think I’ve read it in my teens, but in the pre-internet age, things were foggy, remember?), The general introduction to Psychoanalysis (a re-read too) and Reflection on War and death (which I’m 80% positive I’ve not read yet).

Then I wanted to have something easy and entertaining in French and I downloaded swashbuckling classics: Les Pardaillan from Michel Zevaco (I was in love with that Pardaillan when I was, like, 12) and 20 Years After, the sequel to the Dumas’ Musketeers series which I’d so much enjoyed a while back.

As you can see, I have a lot of reading ahead of me. I guess the Kindle’s empty shelves make my book lust even worse than normal. And to my own surprise, the one that kept me most awake and interested so far is Le Fanu. I’ll report whenever Baby Titus will allow.

3 thoughts on “Kindle Shelves

  1. Isn’t it fun downloading free books to your Kindle? I always go a little wild when the mood hits me because really, they take up no physical space and they are free so you can’t feel guilty about it!

Leave a Reply

