Judith Viorst, How Did I Get to Be 40 and Other Atrocities (1976)

I have been disappointed by the latest book by Gretchen Rubin, and I may have written harsh criticism, but I don’t want to be ungrateful: Ms. Rubin is very creative (even if her ideas aren’t applicable to everyone) and she can source information from very interesting people. She obviously loves research, and aphorisms.

Something caught my eyes in a blog post of hers: a short stance by Judith Viorst, a woman I’d never heard about before:

How do I know if the time has come to accept my limitations

Or whether I still ought to try to fulfill my promise?

I made me pause, and as I was still thinking about it the second day, I had to find the book it came from. I got a used book through Amazon, and the book is about as old as I am! So you see, I’m not really forty yet, and I don’t feel atrocious in the least, and yet…

The book made me smile, and even laugh out loud. Yes, the pages are yellowing and rather musty, but it is charming. A lot of these witty poems about married life in the 40s are about situations that might feel dated (70s and all) but I still recognize them. I could empathize with these women’s feelings and experiences.

Now I have to buy the book about the 30s as well!

2 thoughts on “Judith Viorst, How Did I Get to Be 40 and Other Atrocities (1976)

  1. I love Judith Viorst. She’s done a book of poetry for every decade of her life, and they’re all terrific (no matter what decade of life you’re in). She writes children’s books as well. Your children might enjoy Alexander and the Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

  2. Pingback: My Nerdy New Year and 2014 Favorites! | Smithereens

Leave a Reply

