Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1904)

I discovered Sherlock in my early teens and it was love at first sight. I read all the stories and novels in one breath and watched the Jeremy Brett series with a critical yet totally addicted eye (I bet this gives away my age), and like all the readers of the turn of the (20th) century, I was inconsolable at the Reichenbach falls and so thankful that Doyle had decided to cave in and write some more stories.

I had not revisited this childhood favorite ever since, but the recent TV show made me yearn for some Sherlock again, and as it seems that we won’t be getting any Cumberbatch before 2015 (?), I downloaded the original on my Kindle.

Oh man. It’s tough. It’s not anywhere as good as I remembered it. Some stories are downright laborious, and several times I’d guessed the truth well before the end. There’s not that many baffling deductions like in the first series of short stories (as I recall), but rather some deus ex maxima and a few implausible explanations.

I hope and suspect that the first collections were much better than this one, but I won’t try to read it again for fear of disappointment. I want to preserve the memory of being amazed. I tried to remember how old I was when I started them and I can’t, but I was obviously young  and naive. I guess the TV show has surpassed the original, and I’ll just have to be patient.

I still look forward to the day when my sons will be big enough to read it by themselves (what age? I once again wonder), but beware when revisiting childhood favorites: it’s a double-edged sword.

2 thoughts on “Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1904)

  1. Although I know of the Holmes stories and feel as if he and Watson are part of my mental map of the literary world, I have to admit that I have never read any of them. I often feel this as a deficit but following your comment I wonder now if I shouldn’t just cosset my self-created image and leave the real thing alone.

  2. Pingback: The one with my middle-school swashbuckling crush | Smithereens

Leave a Reply

