A Touch of Japanese Blue

I’m so not ready for fall! Three days into the new schedule and I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed (How come I could master the evening routine, bathe, feed and tuck everyone in and now I can’t anymore?). Yet I’m posting, because I’d feel even guiltier if I didn’t even take the time for that.

The good news that came in the middle of my vacation was a message from lovely Michelle, from Pieces and Necessary Fiction, to let me know of her upcoming novel, which won a prize (the 2013 Christopher Doheny Award from the Center for Fiction, no less!) and will be published in the fall with Tantor Publishing: Fog Island Mountains (I also see that the book is already available on pre-order from Audible.com.

At least one thing to sweeten my fall! She sent me a ARC and I’m glad to start reading her novel right away. I expect some strong emotions and deep issues, as her novel deals with grief. It is set in a small Japanese town where an expatriate, married to a Japanese and settled there for many years, has to face a terminal cancer diagnosis.

I’m just 20 pages into the novel but I already like Michelle’s writing a lot, the way she handles multiple points of views and her description that makes people so foreign to my own experience immediately alive and understandable under my eyes.

Strangely, I was reminded of a melancholy song I love very much, from Norwegian jazz songwriter Silje Nergaard. The song actually has nothing typically Japanese in it, but it is called “Japanese blue”, and I feel it goes well with the mood the novel starts with.

I plan to read it slowly as it is a difficult subject, but I’ll let you know how it progresses!

4 thoughts on “A Touch of Japanese Blue

  1. I actually know Michelle, as we don’t live too far away from each other here on the shores of Lake Geneva (but we missed each other at the recent book festival in Morges). I’m really looking forward to this book, as I love all things Japan-related.
    And hang on in there! I too am finding re-establishing a routine really, really hard…

Leave a Reply

