A New Series: Reading Aloud With My Oldest

I have vivid memories of being read to as a child, so I always knew that reading aloud would be important to me as a parent, hoping that my child(ren) would love it too. It is therefore no surprise that in the evening routine, the reading aloud part comes to me. My husband has never disputed me that (although he loves reading too, obviously).

I have sometimes posted about picture books here, but now that my oldest is 6 (and starting reading, this is soooo sweet!), we are now turning to chapter books, which is a new territory for both of us.

The oldest son typically wants to be a big boy in all matters and read big boy’s books, but he still loves to have his share of pictures, so he loves poring over comic books that are much too difficult for him in terms of content (Tintin, Lucky Luke, Asterix are familiar heroes around here). I read them aloud to him, but it’s tedious for me, and we get both frustrated when I read jokes that only I can laugh at.

One of my long-time dreams has been to re-read with my kids those books that I loved as a child: The Just-So Stories, for example, and The Hobbit (obviously at different ages). And more recent books have added themselves naturally to the list, like Harry Potter. It’s really important for me to be there by his side when he’ll get to discover those new worlds.

In the meantime, I have started to explore this new territory of chapter books for elementary school readers and beyond (because I don’t want to limit myself to books that he will soon be able read by himself.) You will hear about the best ones over here!

As I love both family-centered blogs and podcasts (huge distraction and procrastination from reading and writing, I know…), I discovered through the Art of Simple website a podcast: The Read-Aloud Revival Podcast by Sarah Mackenzie, which is always a delight to listen to. I am absolutely not in the homeschooling, religious tribe, her primary target audience I guess, but I enjoy it and I love hearing about new titles from distant horizons (to me).

One of the advantages of reading-aloud is to give my son access to books in English, which I translate aloud (given that he will be able to read French books by himself soon enough). And not only to limit myself to books I have read myself as a child, but discover new books and have as much fun as my son.

I hope that you will follow me in this new exploration!

As a book-loving parent, what books do you (did you) love reading aloud to your kids?

3 thoughts on “A New Series: Reading Aloud With My Oldest

  1. It’s sometimes a bit of a disappointment that the books you enjoyed as a child are not necessarily the ones that your children will in turn enjoy. I was hoping that Swallows and Amazons or The Secret Garden might intrigue them, but so far no luck! I had some luck with The Hobbit. Emil and the Detectives and they absolutely love BD like Tintin, Asterix and Spirou & Fantasio, but I have to accept that I can only influence them so far.

  2. How wonderful! I remember my parents and any family member I could wrangle into it a family gatherings, reading to me when I was a kid. I have fond memories of teachers at school reading aloud to the class every afternoon too. I have not children, but I applaud you for creating what will surely be happy memories for yours.

  3. I’m not a parent. But I loved, loved, loved when my father read me The Wind in the Willows when I was a child. It’s a memory that has stuck with me and help me during this year in which I’m learning to live without him.

Leave a Reply

