Just a note and a question

Last week has been hard. Rather awful, if truth must be told. I won’t go into details here, but I have learnt shocking news about a friend, and I am only slowly getting my balance back. It has been very hard to write down 50 words a day in those circumstances. You’d think fiction might provide a welcome escape window, but it didn’t work for me.

I recently heard someone say that when you’re sad, you should go and learn something. I found out that it is true. So expect some non-fiction reviews over here in the next few weeks. I have read the intro and part of the first chapter of the gigantic Capital in the Twenty First Century by Thomas Piketty, and I quite enjoyed it, but I had to let it go because the waiting line for it extends out of the library’s doors and so you can’t extend your 3 weeks loan for it, although it is 700 pages long.

Still, I want to ask you: what do you read when you’re sad? What is your go-to favorite to heal? Poetry? Comfort read?

In the meantime, I have a few post drafts to finish, so don’t worry, this place won’t go on hiatus.

8 thoughts on “Just a note and a question

  1. I read poetry when I am sad or very much bothered by something. Otherwise, I haven’t read much poetry since school days and I go back to the ones I liked then. Yeats comforts me and Hopkins helps when things are really tough.

  2. I’m sorry! It sounds like a difficult time, and I’m sorry you have to go through it. I let myself watch TV instead of read if I feel that will help; I watch so little television, but it’s a good escape when I need one. Or if I want to stick to books, I’ll reread something, possibly Jane Austen. Her worlds are complicated, difficult ones, but I know everything will get resolved in the end, and in the meantime, I can enjoy her witty writing and know that I’m in good hands.

    • I found that I couldn’t concentrate on TV. I must confess I tried funny or cute video on Youtube. There’s something about those cats… even if i’m not a pet person at all!

  3. Delurking to say that I so hope things take a turn for the better for you soon. My go-to comfort author is Eva Ibbotson — her books make me feel like I’m getting hugged. The Morning Gift is my favorite, but I think that’s just because I’ve read it more often than her others.

  4. Sorry to hear about your troubles – and even sorrier that I only saw this now. Hope you’re feeling a bit better. I too like to read poetry or the classics when I’m upset. Or else a very thrilling thriller that takes me completely out of my circumstances – but there aren’t many like that around.

Leave a Reply

