A Summer Book Bargain

(I haven’t forgotten about my suspenseful riddle on mangas… I’m just waiting to pass by the bookshop once more to get a decent picture of it, thought it might be fun! And meanwhile…)

Naughty me! I’ve been good for a number of months, taking books from the libraries or reading from the huge backlog gathering dust on our own bookshelves, but e-books have the power to make me yield: it’s not as if they are adding to the clutter or if they are taking any physical space. Therefore, sneaking one in my virtual shopping basket doesn’t feel like a real purchase.

The only thing that slows me down is that French e-books are priced more or less the same price as the paper book, which publishers justify by the amount of intellectual work that needs to be paid in any format. I get it, yet at a purely instinctive level I feel a bit cheated. In one case I have something in my hand to show for my money, in the other I have a magical flow of data that surges out of nowhere (that’s the land of the clouds) to flies into a device that already lay on my table. Yes, I realize that this representation makes me an old dinosaur. Anyway, call me inconsistent and stingy if you want but I am still reluctant to pay 15 euros for an e-book.

Which make Amazon Kindle promotions almost impossible to resist!

They do it on English books (because they’re bound by French laws for the local ones) but a book for 1.99 or 2.99 for a limited time only? What’s a book blogger to do?

So last weekend I splurged and instant-bought my way to e-book paradise:

  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel for 2,69 euros: I’m normally fearful of post-apocalyptic books, but I heard so much good about it that I’m going to give it a try.
  • The Secrets of Station X: How the Bletchley Park code-breakers helped win the war, for 0,99 euro. I’ve loved the Bletchley Circle in DVDs, and the real story seems just as fascinating.
  • The Beekeeper’s apprentice by Laurie R. King for 0,99 euro: I’m a sucker for all things Sherlock. I can’t help it.
  • The complete plays of Shakespeare for 0,49 euro!

Fortunately, I managed to stop my shopping spree there and then. But I just let you know so that my European friends can enjoy those great deals as well!

4 thoughts on “A Summer Book Bargain

  1. That looks like a great deal! I’m in a spending freeze in terms of books, trying to work through my books that I haven’t read yet, but wow! Didn’t realize until just now that beekeepers apprentice was Sherlock related!!

  2. I have pretty similar feelings about the physicality of books – if I am to pay a certain amount of money for a book, I’d rather have it in my hands rather than in its digital format (and 15 euros is just too much for an e-book!)

    I hope you enjoy your new books! 🙂

  3. Hm. I tried to comment here the other day but I am realizing now that my comments were not working. WEIRD. I was only going to say: I do truly prefer purchasing physical books, because I’m buying a THING and not a license for a thing. However, I also work in publishing, and I promise we’re not screwing with you on ebook pricing. The cost to physically manufacture a physical book is a tiny wee fraction of what goes into the cost of a book (and we lose money on most of them anyway). I PROMISE WE ARE NOT BEING JERKS JUST TO BE JERKS.

    • So glad you managed to comment this time. I am totally convinced that the cost of paper and ink doesn’t weight that much and of course(!) that publishers aren’t jerks… You didn’t believe that from me did you? ; ) My objection is not entirely rational, especially as I prefer to rent a car than own one…

Leave a Reply

