Writing ’17: January Status

20170113_164830If you’ve read my post a few days ago, you’ll have guessed that I don’t have wondrous news to share about my January writing. I have written tons of … emails to the various professionals involved in selling and buying homes; it requires some writing skills indeed, but very little creative imagination.

I still want to stand by my resolution to write every day, because I know that if I lose the habit, it will be a hassle and a struggle to return to it. So I wrote everyday (but 4 days), mostly blog posts drafts, and a few more paragraphs on ongoing stories. I don’t think it’s any good, but it’s there, a little deposit into the writing bank, a few words here and there, and I’ll revisit them one day (perhaps).

Last weekend I got to the point where I wrote down all the books I am currently reading, because I feel that I’m doing no progress on the reading front as well. A bad case of startitis that began in December and got out of control in January. Here’s the status as of last Sunday (don’t panic! please! this is not contagious!)

  • Réparer les vivants by Maylis de Kerangal – p.54/299
  • The Woman Next Door by Cass Green – 38%
  • Lotus by Lijia Zhang – 56%
  • The Blank Wall by Elisabeth Sanxay Holding – p.122/231
  • Gut: Our Body’s Most Underrated Organ by Giulia Enders p.108/335
  • Mating in Captivity: Reconciling the Erotic + the Domestic by Esther Perel – p.152/220
  • The Summer Book by Tove Jansson – 30%

Isn’t it a sad picture? I don’t quite want to abandon any of them, but I have to make hard choices. Plus, I learnt in this stressful season that reading non-fiction before bed is a definite no-no. It leads to hour-long ruminations about to-do-lists and finances and …

Stop. Time for some fun read! What do you suggest?

 

4 thoughts on “Writing ’17: January Status

  1. Aw, my poor dear girl – these major life changes do take their toll on our lives, minds and writing! But they will be over, you will have a bigger place and you will get back into your writing. There is no point in feeling guilty – sometimes life consumes us a little…

  2. But you kept writing! So give yourself credit for that 🙂

    Sounds like you are stuck in what I call “the middles.” You need something short and plot-ty you can finis fast to help you feel better and start you going on the other books. A comic perhaps? That what I have been picking up when I start to sag.

    • Thank you Stefanie! Good suggestion re: graphic novels. I have one in mind that is for middle grade, sensitive, poetic and lovely. I’m going to go with that. Plus the true crime book that Mr. S gave me at xmas.

Leave a Reply

