Val McDermid, Still Life (2020)

I can’t believe that I’d never read a Val McDermid mystery before. Well, I might have, but then it was before 2006, because this blog has never had this name since its creation in the prehistorical ages (that’s what 2006 is in Internet years). Last year at the same period I reported on a Miss Marple-inspired short story collection and the name popped up. I should pretend that it inspired me to borrow this book from the library but that’s not true, it was just… well… chance. A random find from the New Acquisitions shelves. And the attraction of a mysterious cover…

I even took a chance at reading it in translated version. And of course, I couldn’t care less that it was not in order. The French edition is giving away some plot point, or is quite misleading, depending on the way you see it. At any case, it couldn’t be more different from the British editions.

No Scottish coastline, no beach and lobster case, which alludes to the opening scene, the discovery of the body of a man, who happened to be a main suspect in a murder 10 years go. It takes a while before one understand how the murder can be related to anything artistic and to painters. But it’s all worth it! The story is complex with lots of subplots but expertly woven. The pace was impeccable. Of course, as I chose to throw myself into a series at book #6, there’s a lot I’ve probably missed about the main characters and her team. But I immediately warmed up to DCI Karen Pirie, head of a Scottish cold case unit. In truth, I can’t wait to read her other books! The novel is set at the very beginning of 2020, and as the book ends, Karen Pirie takes her computer and her files from the office due to impending lockdown.

I feel both annoyed and lucky. Annoyed to be so late at discovering this new-to-me author. And lucky because Val McDermid is a prolific writer and I have so many titles to explore!

4 thoughts on “Val McDermid, Still Life (2020)

  1. As a Scot, I’ve been reading Val McDermid for more decades than I care to remember and I really think that her Karen Pirie books are the very best that she’s done. I hope you have many more hours of pleasure investigating her back catalogue!

  2. Pingback: Val McDermid, Out of Bounds (2016) | Smithereens

  3. Pingback: Val McDermid, A Place of Execution (1999) | Smithereens

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.